Tags

, , ,

What a year. About now we’ll start to see a ton of recap posts for the poling world, and I can’t wait to read them all, but this post is different.  I want to get personal and share MY Best Of for the year.

You can't delete things from the internet, so it was a brave act to share photos that haven't been retouched. Yeah, I'm evolved. ~ Ascending Slowly

  • At the beginning of the year I decided to rejoin the more advanced students at my studio. I was scared at the time, but I’ve done surprisingly well!  We focus on dance instead of tricks but since I haven’t been exercising outside of class what we do is challenging.  I’m proud of myself for hanging with the big girls. Bonus: my post about rejoining this class included the phrase “put on my big girl panties” and that has brought me some new readers, let me tell you!
  • I did my first (and so far only) vlog. It was a lot of work! I have new respect for people who take videos, edit them, and share them with the world.  Bonus: a friend from work said “my wife and I saw you last night on Comedy Central; apparently you did a video about Plopping your hair and it has a very different connotation on Urban Dictionary than what your video had.”  Um, yes it does. (Don’t look that up, mom! You can’t unlearn some shit.)  And no, I have no idea what show or how much of my video they showed.
  • I did my first pole photo shoot.  Unlike most shoots it was more dancing and less posing and the results were really cool.  I got to see how I express myself in a way I’ve never seen before.  I have an art project in mind that will incorporate some of this and can’t wait to share it with you all, though it may be a while before it’s done. Bonus: You can’t delete things from the internet, so it was a brave act to share photos that haven’t been retouched. Yeah, I’m evolved.
  • I joined a blogging group that focuses on pole, and thank goodness I did! The Pole Dancing Bloggers Association has literally kept this blog alive.  I have a hard time sticking with things and when I don’t feel inspired I don’t make a huge effort to get inspired (lame!).  My posting frequency this year shows that were it not for PDBA’s monthly topic prompts this blog would be super stagnant or maybe even die a quiet death, like my food photography hobby/blog did. Bonus: this group has been the conduit for me making a couple of really key friendships in my life.  Lori and Sheena have made a positive impact for me beyond just pole and I’m so grateful that I know them. Bonus: They’re feeding the flames of my inner goddess; there’s no telling where this will go!

I have some non-pole Best Of highlights too, the most important being that if you can find a way to listen to the universe life gets easier.  I had a couple therapists and friends who were key to me learning that and I’m super grateful for it. What an immense relief it is to learn and believe – truly, deeply, in my own heart – that I captain my own ship. I’ve been holding off on some topics here, but maybe it’s time to bring them on out.

I really am looking forward to next year for so many reasons.  I started this blog not to gain followers, nor even to connect with strangers, rather to give voice to some thoughts and share them with people who know me. I’ve gained so very much more than that.  Thank you all for being a part of my life this year. I hope your year has been full of some great Best Of moments for you, too!  PLEASE share one of your favorite PERSONAL Best Of highlights of the year, pole or personal – I’d love to celebrate them with you!!

Check out the blog hop throughout the month to see other entries about “Best of 2013”, or follow the PDBA on facebook to see when new articles are posted.

