Tags

2012 is wrapping up – time to think about what I’d like to accomplish in the new year! I don’t really believe in New Year’s Resolutions – for me they just don’t stick then I feel guilty.  That’s crap.  So I won’t promise myself anything, but I can certainly say I’ll do my best to work on these things.  And if I keep my goals small I’ll feel less pressure!

  1. A clean invert.  I’ve been poling for almost 2 years and due to various changes of focus (see all kinds of prior posts) I never continued to work on an inversion.  It’s time!  Once I’m up I’m fine, and I’m absolutely strong enough to do it, but it’s sloppy and I’m nervous about it so I think maybe I just need to work on it for more than 10 minutes a week.
  2. A proper half bracket grip.  I noticed I do everything with a baseball grip or a full bracket grip.  What’s that about? I think it would help some of the basic things I want to do like about a hundred different “chair” transitions.  (https://ascendingslowly.wordpress.com/2012/07/01/grip-variations-tutorial/)
  3. A beautiful climb. (https://ascendingslowly.wordpress.com/2012/07/01/x-ankle-climb/)  Aerial Amy mesmerizes me with every climb. I want that.  I really struggle with my climb and I know it’s a matter of practice.  Hmm, I see a theme here.

Most of my online poling friends are interested in nailing super advanced tricks (yay for them!!)  but my goals are simple – feel more confident about the basics.  I’ve focused on floor work and transitions and dancing – and I’m super glad I did – but now I want to focus on my pole work.  It looks like I need to allow a little repetition in my pole time instead of just trying everything I know once each time I touch a pole.  What do you want to focus on? Any tips for how to stick with my plans?

Click here for a bunch of other online pole blogs about 2013 goals! They should all be there by the 15th, so check back!

