Tags

,

I came across some Nike Heels (knockoff, below) and thought it’s time to talk about shoes.  Every pole dancer talks about shoes, trying to decide if they good or bad. Some only dance in platform heels, some wear sneakers, some seem against it, like Zoraya Judd in a YouTube comment:

I don’t wear shoes.

I tried it once and it totally freaked me out that I couldn’t point my toes!  In all fairness, my motto is “try everything twice because the first time might have been a fluke.”  I’ll absolutely try it again, but I suspect I won’t like it because in my mind they change the fundamental way you dance.  A dancer in heels can do lots of tricks and seductive floor work.  A dancer in bare feet can do do that plus be primitively expressive in a way that would be downright weird in heels. The image below is a pretty good example of a beautiful move that I think would look strange in heels – the front foot couldn’t be flexed and “grounded” and the back foot would have to turn sideways in order to not flex.

Also, I really don’t understand why some competitions require shoes.  Do they think it’s harder?  Or do they want everyone on a level playing field and some people don’t know how to dance barefoot?  I don’t like that policy. I think everyone should be able to do what they want.

What are some pros and cons in your mind?  Does it make a difference where you are in your pole journey?  What’s your preference and why?

Courtesy of Arroser

Courtesy of Arroser

Courtesy of SuziJane

Courtesy of SuziJane

