Tags

,

I’ve hesitated to say this in the past but now that I have a place where I can explain it fully, well here goes.  Pole dancing is church for me.

Claire Sterrett wrote about the spiritual connection in her book The Pole Story.  That inspired me to write this post.  Here’s a beautiful passage:

a designated sacred space, with the intention of communing individually and collectively in honor of their bodies and their movement.

Over the past few months I’ve been learning that spiritual connectivity is not only vertical but horizontal as well.  How we connect to people is not always mental and it’s certainly not always physical, and though it’s often emotional it can be something else too – something beyond our cognitive understanding. Carl Jung  refers to “the irrational facts of experience.” It’s when you “just know” something.  I believe when I’m pole dancing I’m experiencing something more than the mental, physical and emotional; it’s my spirit reaching from deep down within me – emerging and being present and connecting with the women in the room and the entire universe.

Being a part of of a group and focusing on what’s true and good – that’s what I think a church does.  Learning together new ways to be true to yourself and do what feels right and share and honor our inner selves – that’s what I feel is the key to a sacred group and I have that in my classes. I’m not trying to diminish the connection people have to a divine being.  I’m saying that pole dancing helps me reflect on what I truly believe in my heart about who I am and helps me celebrate that in others so for me it fills the same role as church.

I live in the Bible Belt and do not wish to offend people who may think I’m being disrespectful so I will not be making this comparison frequently in real life, but here on my own blog I think it’s okay for me to say what’s in my heart.  I even welcome a respectful disagreement if you want to comment! Do you think this is crazy?  Can pole dancing meet the needs of a person’s soul to connect to the universe in the “big picture” of life?

