Tags

I’m used to creating playlists by genre but today I’m creating a few playlists to group songs by tempo because occasionally I want all fast or all slow and no surprises in the middle!  Now, I don’t have the software or desire to truly mix these to make them overlap seamlessly but you could do that if you were making a really long sequence or a mash-up of song vignettes. Can anyone say Montage ?! (That site’s currently having buffering issues, ugh.)

I use http://www.all8.com/tools/bpm.htm to tap out the beats per minute, then enter it in each song’s Info >> BPM property in iTunes then show that column to sort them.  Huge caveat – I don’t know how to technically determine beats per minute; I’m just tapping a key when I feel a strong beat.  For all I know the true tempo is 4 times faster than I interpret it.  Your mileage may vary.

Anyway, here are a few playlists grouped by slow, medium, faster.  Obviously, I can dance slowly to a fast song and faster with a slow one, but this should help me avoid being in a slow groove and suddenly having a quick one pop up. Click here to see my profile in iTunes in case you want to follow me there and  see what playlists I have going.

Feel free to comment if you have any questions!

