Tags

, ,

This is what pole has taught me more than anything else – I’m beautiful.  When was the last time you thought that or, better yet, said it out loud?

About 2 or 3 months after I started my dance classes I went to the lake with some friends.  I think it was the first time in my adult life that I didn’t feel self-conscious about my body in a bathing suit.  My body hadn’t changed that much – my mind had.  I realized that ALL bodies have beauty.  And after I realized that that all bodies HAVE beauty, I realized that all bodies ARE beauty.  Even mine.

Even yours.

If you haven’t yet embraced that every part of you is beautiful – that YOU are beautiful – try to find one tiny thing per day to enjoy about yourself. You’re in the shower anyway, take a look for once.  Are your toes cute little piggies?  Does your elbow have a nice little dimple?  Is your skin soft and yielding and nice to touch? Are your biceps stronger than you thought?

It’s a wonderful thing to be comfortable in your own skin – no matter the shape or size of that skin.  This kind of realization isn’t something we usually grow up with, we have to nurture it until we know it and believe it in our hearts.

If you’re reading this blog you are into pole in some way.  You know that your body is capable of amazing things.  Appreciate what it’s doing, then appreciate how it looks when you’re doing it, then just appreciate how it looks.

Your body is a wonder.

